FRIM staff achievements
By Published On: June 16, 2023

16 June 2023 (Friday) – Forest Research Institute Malaysia (FRIM) held the FRIM 2022 Award Ceremony and ‘Jasamu Dikenang’ Ceremony last night to celebrate FRIM staff who have shown excellent work performance throughout the year 2022 as well as to celebrate the retirement of FRIM retirees and those about to retiree.

The ceremony, held at Dewan Alwy, Kepong, was officiated by the Ministry of Natural Resources, Environment, and Climate Change (NRECC) Deputy Secretary General (Natural Resources), Abdul Wahid Abu Salim.

Also present, FRIM Director General (DG) Dr Ismail Parlan, Deputy DG (Operations) Dr Lillian Chua, FRIM Institute Member Lokman Mohamad and NRECC Biodiversity and Forestry Management Division Assistant Secretary Nor Diana Ramli.

Natural Products Division Research Officer Dr Nik Musa’adah Mustapha was awarded the Best Scientist Award while former Deputy DG (Operations) Dr Noor Azlin Yahya and retired researcher Mohd Afendi Hussin received the Director General Awards.

The research entitled, ‘Production of Eucalyptus Plantlets Using Tissue Culture Techniques’ led by Biotechnology Programme Head Dr Nor Hasnida Hassan received the Best Research Award.

The Best Employee Award (Management and Professional Group) were received by Information Technology Branch Officer Maizura Ishak while for the supporting group, the awards were given to Sabariah Ramuddin from Forestry Biotechnology Division as well as Mahat Shumsudin (Forestry and Environment Division).

In addition, Abdul Wahid, FRIM DG and Deputy DG also presented the following awards:

  • Sports Awards
  • Publication Awards
  • Long Service Awards
  • Community Service Awards
  • Excellent Service Awards (Group)
  • Excellent Service Awards (Individual)

The ‘Jasamu Dikenang’ Ceremony honoured 17 retirees for their dedicated service and contributions.

During the NRECC Excellent Service Awards (APC) ceremony held yesterday evening, Forest Plantation Programme Research Officer Dr V. Jeyanny Vijayanathan and Abd Majid Jalil (Herbal Qaulity Control Programme) also received the Excellent Service Medal (PPC) presented by the NRECC Minister, YB Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad.

PPC is an acknowledgement by the Public Service Department’s ‘Jawatankuasa Induk Pingat Perkhidmatan Cemerlang (JKIPPC)’. This was the first occasion where FRIM’s candidates have been successfully shortlisted.

FRIM staff posing for a group photograph at the 2022 Award Ceremony and ‘Jasamu Dikenang’ Ceremony. From left: Mohd Afendi, Abdul Wahid, Noor Azlin and Ismail during the presentation of Director General Awards.
Retirees and those about to retire posing for a group photograph with Ismail (eighth from left), Abdul Wahid and Chua. From left: Jeyanny, Ismail and Abd Majid at the NRECC Award Ceremony.